Circuit Overview

The Autódromo Roberto Mouras at La Plata was created in the mid-1990s and named for a great hero of Argentina's Turismo Carretera, three-time champion Roberto Mouras, who had been killed a few years previously. 

Today the circuit remains a mainstay of the Turismo Carretera calendar alongside more occasional visits of TC2000 and the Uruguayan Touring Car Championships.

Circuit History

The circuit was the brainchild of a group of partners who invested in the Autódromo La Plata Foundation to create and run the circuit.

The first race came on 20 October 1996, when the Turismo Carretera paid its first visit. After several rain delays, Emilio Satriano took the inaugural race win. For the first few years the TC cars made use of the chicane ahead of the long first curve, though in subsequent years the races have bypassed this altogether.

A number of developments have been made over the years; in 2001 a short course was added, while a second chicane (which can be used in combination with the short course) was added in 2005. The most notable addition has been the addition of a new and imposing pit building in 2012. As well as housing the garages themselves, there is also seating for 5,000 people, as well as VIP, press and conferencing facilities.

An additional attraction on site is the Turismo Carretera Museum, which also opened in 2012 and tells the history of Argentina's most fabled championship. Among the exhibits are the championship-winning cars of Roberto Mouras and nine-time champion Juan Gálvez.

Jump onboard

Circuit info

Autódromo Roberto José Mouras, Ruta 2 - km 49, La Plata, Buenos Aires Province, Argentina
+54 0221 658 0250

Rate This Circuit

Votes: 4224

Plan a visit

Get your race tickets!

Brought to you with: Motorsport Tickets logo

We've teamed up with Motorsports Tickets to bring you the best deals for Formula One, MotoGP, Le Mans and more.

Formula One Tickets

View details

MotoGP Tickets

View details

FIA WEC & Other Tickets

View details