Stay Connected: on Facebook on Twitter's RSS Feed


Flag of circuit's country
  • Timeline
  • 2014-15


  • Formula E Circuit

    1.591 miles / 2.560 km

Circuit Info

Circuit type: Temporary street course

Circuit History

The Putrajaya street circuit wound around the boulevards of Malaysia's administrative centre and was the home of the country's round of the FIA Formula E category for the first two seasons. Like the racing series, the city itself is relatively new, having been lavishly constructed in the mid-1990's in a bid to move the heart of government from the congested centre of the nation's capital Kuala Lumpur.

As a planned city, the streets are generally wide and designed for modern traffic, offering good possibilities for the racing circuit. Designed by British architect Simon Gibbons, the 12-turn course used much of the city's main boulevard and passed between a number of landmark buildings, including the Ministry of Finance and some of the city's most recognisable skyscrapers. The striking Seri Wawasan Bridge, shaped like a sail, also formed a backdrop to the Turn 10 hairpin. Drivers were faced with tackling a mixture of straights, slow to medium speed corners, a hairpin plus a tight first-corner chicane.  There was even a section over a bridge.

The Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak was instrumental in ensuring the race took place at Putrajaya and should have an easy journey to the circuit – his office is just a few miles to the north. For everyone else, the city's well-appointed hotels and quick transport links to Kuala Lumpur made this a straightforward event to attend.

Sam Bird took the first win in the 2014-15 season for Virgin Racing, while Lucas Di Grassi was the winner for Abt Audi in the following year's race.  After that the event was quietly dropped from the schedules and seems destined not to return.


The circuit iwas located in downtown Putrajaya city, approximately 30 minutes south of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) is 30 minutes to the south, while the smaller Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport (SZB) is 50 minute's drive to the north.

Getting to Putrajaya is straightforward. From the main airport, the KLIA Express non-stop train will ferry you to Kuala Lumpur in around 30 minutes, from where the KLIA Transit train service will take you onto Putrajaya and the neighbouring Cyberjaya. There are also many buses which travel between the airport, Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya.

You might also like:


Share this page


Rate This Circuit

Votes: 4645